dinsdag 26 november 2013

25 Series to Read if you LOVE the Hunger Games! (Boek)

*****
Posted on March 23, 2012 by 2busybrunettes
134

*Update 4/2* The new “must-reads” list is now up! Check it out!
Today is a much awaited day. It’s the day The Hunger Games premieres in theaters! Who’s going to see it?? We are! In honor of this wonderful day, we thought we’d give suggestions on books you might enjoy if you enjoyed The Hunger Games. To help you know a little bit about each book and how it might be similar to The Hunger Games, we’ve taken several elements from the book to use for comparison.

Here are the categories:

?futuristic- It takes place in a continent (either North America or fictional) in the future.
?survival- Characters must learn how to survive in rough circumstances- primarily the wilderness.
?love story- Characters show interest in one another that unfolds through the novel.
?adventure packed- Each chapter leaves you going *gasp* and you HAVE to read the next one, only to find that it ends in the same manner.
?contains a revolt- Something isn’t right with the government, and they’re going to do something about it.
?girl protagonist- The main character or the one the story is following is a girl.
?series- Contains more than one book.
?YA- These books are written and marketed for young adults (approximately ages 10-20).
The Books: (In descending order, beginning with the best matches.)

The Giver by Lois Lowry
Jonas is a young boy living in a Utopian town. Everything is perfect where he lives. When children turn 12 they are assigned a job, so when Jonas turns 12 he is named the next ‘Giver’ . This job changes his life because it opens his eyes to things about his society and its past. Jonas faces difficult choices about his future and the future of his people.
futuristic- yes
survival- yes
love story- yes (later in series)
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes
girl protagonist- no, but yes in later books
series- yes, 3 books total
ya- yes, Reading Level 5.9

The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Tally and Shay are two teen girls growing up in a society where they are “Uglies” until the age of 16. Upon your 16th birthday you undergo an operation that makes you a Pretty. Through many adventures, decisions, twists, and turns the character uncovers truths about the current world she lives in and the people she is governed by.
futuristic- yes
survival- yes
love story- yes
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes
girl protagonist- yes
series- yes, 4 books total
ya- yes, reading level 5.1-6.1

City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
Ember is a city of darkness lit only by lamps where the people live off food kept in storerooms. When the lights they use continue to flicker and the shelves of food become empty it makes survival impossible. It will only be a matter of time before the life they know is over. Young friends Doon and Lina are determined to find a way to help their people survive. Read Lena and Doon’s adventure of how they try to bring hope to their city!
futuristic- yes
survival- yes, from hunger
love story- an affection story, wouldn’t call it love
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- somewhat in some parts
girl protagonist- yes
series- yes, 3 books + prequel = 4 total
ya- yes, level 4.9-5.2

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Imagine you live in a country with strict population laws. Only two children per family. What happens when you are the third child? What will you do?
futuristic- yes
survival- somewhat
love story- no, strong friendships
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes
girl protagonist- each book contains a different protagonist. Some are girls, some are not!
series- yes, 7 books total
ya- yes, levels 4.8-5.6

Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Jonah discovers one day that his life is not what it appears to be. Not only is he adopted, but he belongs somewhere else entirely! The journey begins when he receives a note saying “You are one of The Missing.”
futuristic- yes
survival- yes
love story- maybe?
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes
girl protagonist- no
series- yes, 4 books total
ya- yes, level 4.6

Dark Life by Kat Falls
Ty, the main character lives with his family in the world’s first subsea community, where they provide fish and other food for the citizens of North America’s remaining communities on land. Ty is swept up in an unexpected chase for bandits who are out to get take everything from his family. He learns more about people he thought he knew, and in return they learn more about him too!
futuristic- yes
survival- yes
love story- yes
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes
girl protagonist- no
series- yes, 2 so far
ya- yes, level 4.3

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Percy, a teen boy finds out he’s a half-blood and later learns that his destiny involves having to make a choice of whether or not to save the world. He takes along 2 friends with him to fight creatures (and Gods!) from Greek mythology hidden among our world. Will he and his friends have what it takes to complete the incredible mission they have been given?
futuristic- no
survival- yes, trying to save the world
love story- yes, slightly
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes, against the Gods
girl protagonist- no
series- yes, 5 books total
ya- yes, level 4.1-4.7

Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
This is Peter Pan before he becomes Peter Pan. Find out how he became able to fly. How does he know Wendy? Each book is a new adventure (yet building on the last) and equally as good as the last.
futuristic- no
survival- yes
love story- contains hints at one
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- yes, against the “Others”
girl protagonist- told from Peter’s point of view, but there is a girl main character
series- yes, 4 books total
ya- yes, level 5.2-5.6

PEAK by Roland Smith
Ok, this book does not have as many yes’s. BUT it is an awesome book, so much so that we couldn’t leave it out. If your favorite elements of The Hunger Games were survival (in the arena) and adventure, then this is a good pick for you.
futuristic- no
survival- yes, in wilderness in the mountains
love story- no
adventure packed- yes
contains a revolt- no
girl protagonist- no
series- no
ya- yes, level 5.0

Here are some more great books that we’ve heard have commonalities with The Hunger Games, but unfortunately we haven’t read yet. We look forward to reading:

The Secret Hour (1st in trilogy) by Scott Westerfield
Matched (1st in trilogy) by Ally Condie
Divergent (1st in series) by Veronica Roth
The Maze Runner (1st in trilogy + a prequel) by James Dashner
Birthmarked (1st in trilogy) by Caragh M. O’Brien
Across the Universe (1st in series) by Beth Revis
Graceling (has 2 companion books) by Kristin Cashore
Partials by Dan Wells
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari
Incarceron by Catherine Fisher
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch
Legend by Marie Lu
The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn
Life as We Knew It (1st in trilogy) by Susan Beth Pfeffer
Did we leave any out? What books would you recommend to Hunger Games lovers? Have you read any of these? What did you think? And what do you think of the movie!?!

*Update 3/29* We have really enjoyed reading all of your comments. There is no way we could have read and recommended every book series that qualifies as “Hunger Games-like.” But thanks to all your comments, we’ve discovered a few more! There’s been such a response that we’ve decided to make a new post: “Must Reads if You Love The Hunger Games.” We will add all the books you recommend, so get those comments posted. To make it easier for people to select their books, in your comment tell how your book is comparable to The Hunger Games using the 8 categories we used. Have your comments in by Saturday the 31st and we’ll have the new and improved must-reads list up by Monday! Happy reading!

http://2busybrunettes.com/2012/03/23/25-series-to-read-if-you-love-the-hunger-games/#comment-60

Geen opmerkingen :

Een reactie plaatsen